Maryland adoption statutes require that any child over the age of 10 years must consent to the adoption. In the DC and Virginia, any child over the age of 14 years must consent to the adoption. If the adoption is contested, the court will appoint an attorney to represent the child.  In Virginia, adoptees have a guardian ad litem appointed at the initiation of the case.  

Maryland, Virginia and the District of CoIumbia all have statutes that provide for three kinds of adoptions: private agency, public agency and independent/private. In private adoptions, the arrangements regarding the adoption are made directly between the birth parents and the adopting parents. Maryland and the District of Columbia allow for second parent adoptions.
Virginia allows married, same-sex parents to obtain a step-parent adoption.  Unmarried same-sex couples in Virginia can complete a second parent adoption in DC if the child was born there after July 2009.

MARYLAND: In Maryland, birth parents who sign consents (which can only be signed after the baby is born), have 30 days to revoke their consent. A birth parent may not revoke its consent if, in the preceding year, the parent revoked the consent for or filed an objection to the adoption and the adoptee is at least 30 days old and the consent is given before a judge. After the expiration of the revocation period, a birth parent can only disrupt the adoption if he/she can prove the consent was obtained through fraud or under duress.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: In the District of Columbia, a consent to adoption may be revoked or withdrawn only after a judicial determination that the consent was not voluntarily given.

VIRGINIA:  In Virginia, a birth mother gives her consent in a court proceeding at least three days after the child is born and has an additional seven days to revoke her consent. If the birth mother gives her consent more than 10 days after the birth of the child, she can waive her seven day revocation period if she is represented by counsel. A consenting birth father may do the same or waive his rights pre-birth. Virginia has a putative father registry and known birth fathers must be given notice of the registry.

For 2020, the maximum federal adoption tax credit exclusion is $14,300 per child.  The amount changes each year to adjust for inflation.  The credit will begin to phase out for families with modified adjusted gross incomes above $214,520, and the credit will go away completely for those with incomes above $254,520.  


TheAdoptionGuide.com           

Adoption In Maryland [The Complete Guide]

CLICK HERE to view our step-by-step overview of the process of adoption in Maryland and get some answers to the most common questions about Maryland adoption laws. We also offer guides for specific cities:

Baltimore | Frederick | Rockville

Adoption In Virginia [The Complete Guide]

CLICK HERE to learn how we'll walk prospective birth and adoptive parents in Virginia through the different paths their adoption journey can take. We also offer guides for specific cities:

Fairfax  |  Richmond  |  Virginia Beach

Adoption In Washington, D.C. [The Complete Guide]

CLICK HERE to learn what you need to know about Washington, D.C. adoption, whether you hope to adopt a child, or you’re pregnant and need to place your baby for adoption in the District of Columbia.

“I believe in working with each of my clients—in support of their family dynamic—to make the dreams of parenthood a reality. Whether you are single or married; or gay; a step-parent, a surrogate or intended parent or a child of adoption, it is my mission to serve as your advocate. With a dedication to the ethical and sensitive nature of each situation, I will help you understand the laws within Maryland or Washington, DC for adoption or surrogacy, and pledge to be your partner throughout the journey.” - Jennifer Fairfax